03.jpg

MICHAEL

HEINDL

ARTIST IN RESIDENCE

In my work, I deal with the scope for maneuvering we humans have. I am particularly interested in public space, be it physical-urban space, media or virtual space. It is a place of negotiation where all parts of a society come together and have to continually decide on the nature of their coexistence.

 

Based on everyday things and phenomena, I try to create moments that interrupt normal processes. Recorded on film, the actions and interventions are presented later. In search of the poetry of everyday life, this way of working is not just a way for me to sharpen my sense for opportunities. It allows me to interact with the world in an independent way and to actively question it.

 

Michael Heindl's work will be presented during the INTERTONALE week. We will announce the place and time well in advance

MICHAEL HEINDL STUDIED PAINTING AT THE UNIVERSITY OF APPLIED ARTS IN VIENNA AND AT THE NCAD IN DUBLIN. HE LIVES AND WORKS AS A FREELANCE ARTIST AND FILMMAKER IN VIENNA AND SCHARTEN, UPPER AUSTRIA.

HE’S PARTICIPATED IN NUMEROUS EXHIBITIONS AND FILM FESTIVALS AT HOME AND ABROAD AND WAS AWARDED WITH SEVERAL ART PRIZES, INCLUDING THE CROSSING EUROPE INNOVATIVE AWARD 2020, THE LENTOS ART PRIZE 2016 AND THE PRICE OF THE KUNSTVEREIN PASSAU 2014.

Media:

03.jpg

MICHAEL

HEINDL

ARTIST IN RESIDENCE

In meiner Arbeit setze ich mich mit den Handlungsspielräumen von uns Menschen auseinander. Der öffentliche Raum, sei es der physisch-urbane Raum, der mediale oder der virtuelle Raum, interessiert mich besonders. Es ist ein Ort der Verhandlung, an denen alle Teile einer Gesellschaft aufeinandertreffen und kontinuierlich über die Art ihrer Koexistenz entscheiden müssen.

 

Ausgehend von alltäglichen Dingen und Phänomenen versuche ich Momente zu erzeugen, die eine Unterbrechung gewohnter Abläufe zur Folge haben. Filmisch festgehalten, gelangen die Aktionen und Interventionen später zur Präsentation. Auf der Suche nach der Poesie des Alltags stellt diese Arbeitsweise für mich nicht nur einen Weg dar, meinen Sinn für Gelegenheiten zu schärfen. Sie erlaubt es mir, auf eigenständige Art und Weise mit der Welt zu interagieren und diese handelnd zu hinterfragen.

Die Präsentation von Michael Heindls Arbeiten wird während der INTERTONALE-Woche stattfinden. Ort und Uhrzeit geben hier rechtzeitig bekannt. 

Michael Heindl studierte Malerei an der Universität für Angewandte Kunst in Wien und am NCAD in Dublin. Er lebt und arbeitet als freischaffender Künstler und Filmemacher in Wien und Scharten (OÖ).

Er nahm an zahlreichen Ausstellungen und Filmfestivals im In- und Ausland teil und Erhielt mehrere Kunstpreise, darUnter den Crossing Europe Innovative Award 2020, den LENTOS Kunstpreis 2016 und den Preis des Kunstvereins Passau 2014.

Media: